Address: 50 Washington Avenue, Dumont, NJ 07628
Harry Stylianou, Judge
Glenda Hickey, Court Administrator
E. Carter Corriston, Municipal Prosecutor
Louis G. DeAngelis, Public Defender (If you need to contact Mr. DeAngelis, please use the following link www.lgdlegal.com)
- Plea by Mail: https://www.njcourts.gov/forms/10715_plea_mail.pdf?c=uQC
- Your Day in Court: https://www.njcourts.gov/forms/10959_yourdayincourt_8x11.pdf?c=vbt
- Municipal Court Opening Statement
- Do I qualify for a Public Defender: https://njcourts.gov/courts/assets/municipal/indigencyguidelines.pdf?c=KRC
- Where may I pay my fine? www.NJMCdirect.com
- Municipal Court Appeal Forms: https://www.njcourts.gov/forms/10559_muni_appeal_kit.pdf?c=QQ0
- Court Fines: https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/assets/violations/part1bc.pdf?c=paB
- NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Point Schedule: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/penalties_pointSchedule.htm
- Records Request Application Form Online at https://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/index.html
2022 Court Sessions
Court sessions are held virtually at 4:00 pm unless otherwise noted.
January 10th, 24th
February 14th, 28th
March 14th, 28th
April 11th, 25th
May 9th, 23rd
June 13th, 27th
July 11th, 25th
August 8th, 22nd
September 12th, 26th
November 14th, 28th
Dumont Municipal Court Adjournment Process:
Pay Your Tickets Online:
You can pay your motor vehicle summons online at the New Jersey Municipal Courts Direct web site: http://njcourts.judiciary.state.nj.us/njmcdirect/atswepr2/home.do
Judiciary Records Request Form:
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a court appearance required to resolve my summons?
If your offense is listed on the Statewide Violations Bureau schedule and the officer did NOT check the “Court Appearance Required: box, you may pay the fine without an appearance if you are pleading guilty
Offenses that DO require a court appearance are:
39:3-10 Driving without a license
39:3-29 Failure to exhibit an insurance card
39:3-40 Driving while suspended
39:4-77.1 Failure to remove snow from vehicle
39:4-96 Reckless driving
39:4-97.3 Use of hand held device while driving
39:4-98 Speeding (40 mph or more over limit)
39:4-129 Leaving the scene of an accident
39:4-130 Failure to report accident
39:6B-2 No Insurance on vehicle
39:8-9C Fraudulent display of inspection sticker
When is payment due?
If you wish to plead guilty to a payable offense, payment is due by the court date listed on the front, lower portion of the summons.
What form of payment is accepted?
The Dumont Municipal Court accepts cash, checks/money orders and most credit/debit cards. Payment can be made at the court office Monday-Friday, 9:00am-4:30pm, by mail or via the internet at www.njmcdirect.com. A check or money order, payable to the Dumont Municipal Court, should be mailed to 80 West Madison Avenue, Dumont, NJ 07628.
Can I change my court date?
Please refer to the Dumont Municipal Court adjournment policy ( insert PDF). If you have further questions, please contact the municipal court at (201) 387-5032/33.
What if I wish to plead not guilty?
If you wish to plead not guilty, you must notify the court at least 7 days prior to the date listed on the front of the summons. You will be advised of the date and time you need to virtually appear.
How do I apply for a public defender?
If you wish to apply for a public defender, you must complete a Financial Questionnaire to Establish Indigency. The judge will review the completed form, grant his approval if you are eligible and advise you of the fee amount. The maximum amount charged for a public defender is $200.
Where can I get legal advice if I am not eligible for a Public Defender?
You may contact the N.J. State Bar Association for Bergen County Referral Service, 15 Bergen St. Hackensack, NJ 07601, 201-488-0044, https://www.bergenbar.org/lawyer-referral/
How do I get a copy of my driver's abstract?
You may contact the N.J. Dept. of Motor Vehicles at 609-292-7500 or go on line at:
How do I file an appeal?
The Municipal Court must receive your Notice of Municipal Court Appeal form within 20 days (including weekends and holidays) from the date you were found guilty.
There is a $100 filing fee plus a transcript fee, which you must pay in advance. Both of these fees are non-refundable.
If you were represented by a court appointed attorney in your Municipal Court proceeding, please consult with that person prior to filing your appeal. The assigned counsel can help you file your appeal.
You may get an application at the Dumont Court Office or at New Jersey Courts Online:
Still have a question? Please call the Court Office at 201-387-5032/5033.